header-middle-v2_2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

Time Garden: skull bridge

Scotty Hardwig
Sonntag 11 September 2022
17:45 GMT+2
Metropolis Kino
  • Tanzfilm
USA

| Synopsis

Skull Bridge ist eine choreografische Animation, die eine chimärische Vision des menschlichen Körpers präsentiert, der im Cyber-Zeitalter fragmentiert ist. Sie ist Teil einer größeren Werkreihe namens Time Garden, die an der Schnittstelle von Musik, bildender Kunst und Tanz in der virtuellen Realität entsteht. Die Empfindungen unserer hybriden Körper bewegen sich in einem Wahrnehmungsraum, der den kognitiven Transformationen von Sprache und Geschichte vorausgeht. Es sind seltsame Anatomien, diese getrennten Teile von uns. Welche Mythen werden unsere chimärenartigen Intelligenzen erzählen? Welche Götter werden sie verehren? Welche Bewegungsrituale werden sie in dem freudigen, beerdigenden Akt der Gewöhnung und Wiedergewöhnung an die Empfindung vollziehen?
| Tickets erhalten

| Credits

Music / Charles Nichols
Visualization / Zach Duer
Movement & Choreography / Scotty Hardwig

Scotty Hardwig

| Webseite

| Biographie

Scotty Hardwig ist ein Bewegungskünstler, Medienkünstler, Performer und somatischer Philosoph aus Südwest-Virginia. In den letzten 15 Jahren hat seine Forschungspraxis als Beweger, Pädagoge und Schöpfer ein breites Spektrum an Körperstudien und Bewegungsphilosophien umspannt, darunter Kunga- und Ashtanga-Yoga, Gyrotonic/Gyrokinesis, Capoeira, Authentic Movement, Körperarbeit, Kontaktimprovisation, Bewegungsmeditation, Anatomie, Kinesiologie und eine professionelle Karriere als zeitgenössischer Tänzer und Choreograf.

Als Tänzer und Bewegungskünstler entsteht seine Forschungspraxis aus dem Zusammentreffen von sensorischen Medien und dem sich bewegenden Körper, wobei er bewegungsbasierte Kunstwerke in Form von Live-Performances, Installationen/ortspezifischen Arbeiten und filmischen Rahmen schafft. Als freischaffender Performer und Mitglied der AXIS Dance Company hatte er die Ehre, mit international anerkannten Choreographen wie Claudia Lavista, Andrea Olsen, Marc Brew, Stephen Koester, Molly Heller, Johannes Wieland, Joe Goode, Amy Seiwart, Eric Handman, Yannis Adoniou, Chia Chi Chang, Sara Shelton Mann, Satu Hummasti, Stephan Koplowitz, Rose Beauchamp, Damien Muñoz und Virginia Garcia zu arbeiten. Als Choreograf sind seine Prozesse kollaborativ, experimentell und queer und erforschen die existenziellen Zwischenräume von Bedeutung und Metapher, die dem menschlichen Körper in Bewegung innewohnen. Er hat Werke für Kompanien wie das Roanoke Ballet Theatre (Virginia), das National Ballet of Ecuador (EC), LEVYdance (San Francisco, CA), La Revuelta Laboratorio Escénico (MX), die Dance Company of Middlebury (Vermont) sowie für internationale Teams von Bewegungskünstlern geschaffen.

Er ist nicht nur Choreograf und Performer, sondern auch ein preisgekrönter Videotanzkünstler und -regisseur, und seine Tanz-für-Kamera-Arbeiten wurden auf Experimentalfilm- und Screendance-Festivals in Amerika, Europa und Asien gezeigt. Als Lehrer hält er in den Vereinigten Staaten und international offene Workshops zu Performance, Anatomie, Bewegung und Medien ab. Als Pädagoge war er Mitglied des Lehrkörpers der University of Utah und des Middlebury College, außerdem gab er Gastworkshops an Institutionen wie der University of Panama (Panama City), der Professional Dance School of Mazatlán (EPDM, Mexiko), dem Smith College, dem Amherst College und der School for Contemporary Dance & Thought. Er erhielt seinen MFA in Tanz von der University of Utah und ist derzeit Assistenzprofessor für Bewegung, Performance und integrierte Medien an der Virginia Tech.

| Biographie

Scotty Hardwig ist ein Bewegungskünstler, Medienkünstler, Performer und somatischer Philosoph aus Südwest-Virginia. In den letzten 15 Jahren hat seine Forschungspraxis als Beweger, Pädagoge und Schöpfer ein breites Spektrum an Körperstudien und Bewegungsphilosophien umspannt, darunter Kunga- und Ashtanga-Yoga, Gyrotonic/Gyrokinesis, Capoeira, Authentic Movement, Körperarbeit, Kontaktimprovisation, Bewegungsmeditation, Anatomie, Kinesiologie und eine professionelle Karriere als zeitgenössischer Tänzer und Choreograf.

Als Tänzer und Bewegungskünstler entsteht seine Forschungspraxis aus dem Zusammentreffen von sensorischen Medien und dem sich bewegenden Körper, wobei er bewegungsbasierte Kunstwerke in Form von Live-Performances, Installationen/ortspezifischen Arbeiten und filmischen Rahmen schafft. Als freischaffender Performer und Mitglied der AXIS Dance Company hatte er die Ehre, mit international anerkannten Choreographen wie Claudia Lavista, Andrea Olsen, Marc Brew, Stephen Koester, Molly Heller, Johannes Wieland, Joe Goode, Amy Seiwart, Eric Handman, Yannis Adoniou, Chia Chi Chang, Sara Shelton Mann, Satu Hummasti, Stephan Koplowitz, Rose Beauchamp, Damien Muñoz und Virginia Garcia zu arbeiten. Als Choreograf sind seine Prozesse kollaborativ, experimentell und queer und erforschen die existenziellen Zwischenräume von Bedeutung und Metapher, die dem menschlichen Körper in Bewegung innewohnen. Er hat Werke für Kompanien wie das Roanoke Ballet Theatre (Virginia), das National Ballet of Ecuador (EC), LEVYdance (San Francisco, CA), La Revuelta Laboratorio Escénico (MX), die Dance Company of Middlebury (Vermont) sowie für internationale Teams von Bewegungskünstlern geschaffen.

Er ist nicht nur Choreograf und Performer, sondern auch ein preisgekrönter Videotanzkünstler und -regisseur, und seine Tanz-für-Kamera-Arbeiten wurden auf Experimentalfilm- und Screendance-Festivals in Amerika, Europa und Asien gezeigt. Als Lehrer hält er in den Vereinigten Staaten und international offene Workshops zu Performance, Anatomie, Bewegung und Medien ab. Als Pädagoge war er Mitglied des Lehrkörpers der University of Utah und des Middlebury College, außerdem gab er Gastworkshops an Institutionen wie der University of Panama (Panama City), der Professional Dance School of Mazatlán (EPDM, Mexiko), dem Smith College, dem Amherst College und der School for Contemporary Dance & Thought. Er erhielt seinen MFA in Tanz von der University of Utah und ist derzeit Assistenzprofessor für Bewegung, Performance und integrierte Medien an der Virginia Tech.

header-middle-v2_2x

DANCE FILM OPEN CALL 

UNTIL FEBRUARY 15, 2023

Time Garden: skull bridge

Scotty Hardwig
Sunday 11 September 2022
17:45 GMT+2
Metropolis Kino
  • Dance Film
USA

| Synopsis

Skull Bridge is a choreographic animation that presents a chimeric vision of the human body fragmented in the cyber age, and is a movement in a larger suite of works called Time Garden created at the intersection of music, visual art and dance in virtual reality. The sensations of our hybrid bodies operate in a perceptual space that precedes the cognitive transformations of language and story. These are strange anatomies, these separate parts of us. What myths will our chimeric intelligences tell? What gods will they worship? What rituals of movement will they perform in the joyful, funerary act of familiarizing and refamiliarizing themselves with sensation?

| Credits

Music / Charles Nichols
Visualization / Zach Duer
Movement & Choreography / Scotty Hardwig

Scotty Hardwig

| Biography

Scotty Hardwig is a movement artist, media artist, performer and somatic philosopher originally from southwest Virginia. Over the past 15 years, his research practice as a mover, educator and creator has spanned a wide breadth of physical studies and movement philosophies, including Kunga and Ashtanga yoga, Gyrotonic/Gyrokinesis, capoeira, Authentic Movement, bodywork, contact improvisation, movement meditation, anatomy, kinesiology, and a professional career as a contemporary dancer and choreographer.

As a dancer and movement artist, his research practice stems from the confluence of sensory media and the moving body, creating movement-based artwork through live performance, installation/site-specific, and cinematic frames. As a freelance performer and company member of AXIS Dance Company, he has had the honor of working with internationally recognized choreographers like Claudia Lavista, Andrea Olsen, Marc Brew, Stephen Koester, Molly Heller, Johannes Wieland, Joe Goode, Amy Seiwart, Eric Handman, Yannis Adoniou, Chia Chi Chang, Sara Shelton Mann, Satu Hummasti, Stephan Koplowitz, Rose Beauchamp, Damien Muñoz, and Virginia Garcia. As a choreographer, his processes are collaborative, experimental, and queer, investigating the existential in-between spaces of meaning and metaphor inherent to the human body in motion. He has created works for companies like Roanoke Ballet Theatre (Virginia), the National Ballet of Ecuador (EC), LEVYdance (San Francisco, CA), La Revuelta Laboratorio Escénico (MX), the Dance Company of Middlebury (Vermont), in addition to international teams of movement creators.

In addition to being a choreographer and performer, he is also an award-winning videodance artist and director, and his dance-for-camera works have been screened at experimental film and screendance festivals in the Americas, Europe, and Asia. As a teacher, he holds open workshops in performance, anatomy, movement, and media throughout the United States and internationally. As an educator, he has served on the faculty at the University of Utah and Middlebury College, in addition to guest workshops at institutions like the University of Panama (Panama City), the Professional Dance School of Mazatlán (EPDM, Mexico), Smith College, Amherst College, and the School for Contemporary Dance & Thought. He received his MFA in Dance from the University of Utah, and is currently an Assistant Professor in Movement, Performance and Integrated Media at Virginia Tech.

| Biography

Scotty Hardwig is a movement artist, media artist, performer and somatic philosopher originally from southwest Virginia. Over the past 15 years, his research practice as a mover, educator and creator has spanned a wide breadth of physical studies and movement philosophies, including Kunga and Ashtanga yoga, Gyrotonic/Gyrokinesis, capoeira, Authentic Movement, bodywork, contact improvisation, movement meditation, anatomy, kinesiology, and a professional career as a contemporary dancer and choreographer.

As a dancer and movement artist, his research practice stems from the confluence of sensory media and the moving body, creating movement-based artwork through live performance, installation/site-specific, and cinematic frames. As a freelance performer and company member of AXIS Dance Company, he has had the honor of working with internationally recognized choreographers like Claudia Lavista, Andrea Olsen, Marc Brew, Stephen Koester, Molly Heller, Johannes Wieland, Joe Goode, Amy Seiwart, Eric Handman, Yannis Adoniou, Chia Chi Chang, Sara Shelton Mann, Satu Hummasti, Stephan Koplowitz, Rose Beauchamp, Damien Muñoz, and Virginia Garcia. As a choreographer, his processes are collaborative, experimental, and queer, investigating the existential in-between spaces of meaning and metaphor inherent to the human body in motion. He has created works for companies like Roanoke Ballet Theatre (Virginia), the National Ballet of Ecuador (EC), LEVYdance (San Francisco, CA), La Revuelta Laboratorio Escénico (MX), the Dance Company of Middlebury (Vermont), in addition to international teams of movement creators.

In addition to being a choreographer and performer, he is also an award-winning videodance artist and director, and his dance-for-camera works have been screened at experimental film and screendance festivals in the Americas, Europe, and Asia. As a teacher, he holds open workshops in performance, anatomy, movement, and media throughout the United States and internationally. As an educator, he has served on the faculty at the University of Utah and Middlebury College, in addition to guest workshops at institutions like the University of Panama (Panama City), the Professional Dance School of Mazatlán (EPDM, Mexico), Smith College, Amherst College, and the School for Contemporary Dance & Thought. He received his MFA in Dance from the University of Utah, and is currently an Assistant Professor in Movement, Performance and Integrated Media at Virginia Tech.