Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

Tanz mit dem Tiger

  • Panorama Special Program | New Zealand / Spain
11
09
19:00

| Film Beschreibung

An embrace of virtuality and reality

Tanz mit dem Tiger entführt Sie in eine Welt, in der Augmented Reality und Tanz zu einem Performance-Erlebnis verschmelzen. Durch die Verschmelzung mit neuen Technologien kombiniert die Tanzkunst virtuelle Choreographie mit zwei Live-Performer*innen auf innovative Weise. Mittels Motion-Capture-Technologie wird fünf "digitalen Tanzmacher*innen" eine Plattform gegeben, auf der sie als Zuschauer ihre Kreativität zeigen können. Sie erhalten die Möglichkeit, eine Choreografie zu entwickeln, die vor Ort aufgenommen und in die erweiterte Realität umgesetzt wird.

Das Live-Publikum erhält ein Tablet, mit dem es die "digitalen Tänzer" sowohl in Form von Avataren als auch real in Aktion sehen kann. Darüber hinaus kann dieses innovative Experiment bequem von zu Hause aus als 360°-Livestream erlebt werden.

Statement des Regisseurs
Der Titel TMDT stammt aus einem Zitat von Dr. Christian Drosten vom Mai 2020, der den deutschen Umgang mit der Corona-Pandemie beschreibt: "Es geht jetzt darum, Stück für Stück herauszufinden, wo man die Zügel des Tieres lockern kann, ohne dass es gleich auf einen losgeht." Die Corona-Pandemie hat das Leben aller beeinträchtigt, besonders das der Performance-Künstler*innen. Die Stärke von Künstler*innen ist es, ihre Kreativität zu nutzen und einen Weg zu finden, mit diesem gemeinsamen Trauma umzugehen und einen Raum für Verständnis, Solidarität und Empathie zu schaffen. Ironischerweise wäre ein solches Projekt sonst nicht möglich.

www.roxy.ulm.de/programm

Further performances at 19:30 CET and 20:30 CET on www.roxy.ulm.de
| Get a Ticket

| CREDITS

Artistic Director/Choreographer: Pablo Sansalvador | Dramaturgy: Sandra Schumacher | Software Designer and Coder: Alpay Artun | Music/Sound Composition: Max Levy | Technical Director: Falko Pross | Production Manager: Raphaelle Polidor | in collaboration with: www.widerstandundsoehne.de | funded by: Baden-Württemburg Ministry for Science Research and Arts | Headshot credit: Kirsten McTernan

Pablo Sansalvador

| Biografie

Sansalvador ist ein Kreateur, Tanzkünstler und Bewegungsdesigner. Da er sowohl aus Neuseeland als auch aus Spanien stammt, sucht er nach Kreation durch ständige Bewegung. Er hat in Großbritannien, Deutschland, Dänemark, der Schweiz, Spanien, Neuseeland und Südafrika performt, entwickelt und gearbeitet. Ursprünglich absolvierte er mit einem Stipendium der Rambert School einen "Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Design and Innovation, with First-class Honours" an der Open University in Großbritannien. Er erhielt einen Master-Abschluss in Produktdesign von der Superior Design School in Barcelona. Seine Abschlussarbeit war eine interaktive Tanzinstallation im Freien mit dem Titel "Step by Step Project", die dank der Finanzierung durch die Stadt Ulm, Deutschland, realisiert wurde. Sansalvadors Werke umfassen ortsspezifische Arbeiten, Innen- und Außeninstallationen sowie choreografische Tanzstücke für Theater und Museen in Deutschland, der Schweiz, Neuseeland und Spanien. Mit seinem eklektischen Wissen in Performance, menschenzentriertem Designdenken und seiner bewährten Erfolgsbilanz in Kollaborationen ist er Mitbegründer des gemeinnützigen Künstlerkollektivs Moving Rhizomes e.V.

Derzeit ist Pablo künstlerischer Leiter des TanzLabors im ROXY Ulm, wo er Gastspiele von Tanzkompanien programmiert und Koproduktionsresidenzen mit aufstrebenden Choreographen ermöglicht.

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden
mit Festival News

03-11

SEPTEMBER 2021

Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Dance & Dance Film 

// Festival

Tanz mit dem Tiger

  • Panorama Special Program | New Zealand / Spain
11
09
19:00

| SYNOPSIS

An embrace of virtuality and reality

Tanz mit dem Tiger (en. Dance with the Tiger) takes you into a world where augmented reality and dance merge to create a performance experience. By merging with new technologies, the art of dance combines virtual choreography with two live performers in an innovative way. Through motion-capture technology, five “digital dance-makers” are given a platform where they can showcase their creativity, receiving the opportunity to develop a choreography that is recorded on-site and transformed into augmented reality.

The live audience receives a tablet with which they can see the “digital dancers” in the form of avatars as well as real in-action. In addition, this innovative experiment can be experienced comfortably from home as a 360° live stream.

Choreographer Statement:
The title TMDT comes from a quote by Dr. Christian Drosten in May 2020, describing the German approach to the Corona pandemic: “It’s now a matter of figuring out, bit by bit, where you can loosen the leash on the animal without it coming at you right away.” The Corona pandemic has attacked the lives of everyone, especially performance artists. The strength of artists is to use their creativity and find a way to deal with this shared trauma and create a space for understanding, solidarity and empathy. Ironically, such a project would not otherwise be possible

www.roxy.ulm.de/programm

Further performances at 19:30 CET and 20:30 CET on www.roxy.ulm.de

| CREDITS

Artistic Director/Choreographer: Pablo Sansalvador | Dramaturgy: Sandra Schumacher | Software Designer and Coder: Alpay Artun | Music/Sound Composition: Max Levy | Technical Director: Falko Pross | Production Manager: Raphaelle Polidor | in collaboration with: www.widerstandundsoehne.de | funded by: Baden-Württemburg Ministry for Science Research and Arts | Headshot credit: Kirsten McTernan

Pablo Sansalvador

| Biography

Pablo is a creator, dance artist, and movement designer. With both New Zealand and Spain as his origins, he searches for creation through constant motion. He has performed, created, and been engaged in the United Kingdom, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Spain, New Zealand, and South Africa. Originally graduating with a scholarship from Rambert School, he went on to complete a Bachelor of Science (Honors) in Design and Innovation, with first-class Honors from the Open University in the UK. He was awarded a Master’s Degree in Product Design from the Superior Design School in Barcelona. His final thesis was an outdoor interactive dancing installation titled “Step by Step Project” which was realized thanks to funding by the city of Ulm, Germany. Sansalvador’s creations include site-specific works, indoor and outdoor installations, and choreographic dance pieces for theatres and museums in Germany, Switzerland, New Zealand, and Spain. With his eclectic knowledge in performance, human-centered design thinking, and proven track record for collaborations, he co-founded the non-profit artistic collective Moving Rhizomes e.V.

Pablo is currently the Artistic Director of the TanzLabor at ROXY Ulm where he programs guest performances by dance companies and facilitates co-production residencies with emerging choreographers.

keep up with
festival news