header-middle-v2_2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

SURRENDER

Kosta Karakashyan
Freitag 9 September 2022
20:00 GMT+2
Metropolis Kino
  • Tanzfilm
Bulgarien

| Synopsis

SURRENDER ist ein poetischer Dokumentarfilm, der vier der fesselndsten männlichen Tänzer Bulgariens (Krastyo Metodiev, Remi Toin, Nikola Hadjitanev & Svetoslav Seropyan) vorstellt und den Vorhang darüber lüftet, wer sie sind und warum sie tanzen. Der Film kombiniert ihre Original-Performances mit dokumentarischen Berichten aus erster Hand und zeichnet die persönliche Beziehung jedes Mannes zum Tanz nach, um zu verstehen, wie dieser mit der Vorstellung von Männlichkeit in der bulgarischen Gesellschaft zusammenhängt.
| Tickets erhalten

| Credits

Starring
Krastyo Metodiev
Remi Toin
Nikola Hadjitanev
Svetoslav Seropyan

Executive Producers
Kosta Karakashyan
Stephanie Handjiiska

Written and Directed by Kosta Karakashyan

Producers
Lyubomir Balabanov
Lubo Marinov

Director of Photography
Alexander Vasilev

Production Designer
Velina Mavrodieva

Editors
Kosta Karakashyan
Alexander Tsekoff

Music by
Ace Vaptsarov

Costume Designer
Georgi Stoilov

Creative Consultant
Alexander Tsekoff

Movement Director
Kosta Karakashyan

First Assistant Director
Lubo Marinov

First Assistant Camera
Alberto Dimitrov

Second Assistant Camera
Tsvetan Lyubenov

Gaffer
Manol Mitrev

Still Photographer
Sabridzhan Uzen

Sound Recording & Mixing
Georgi Kostov

Color Grading
Lyubomir Balabanov / Eurofilms

BTS Photographers
Petya Peeva
Evgenia Taneva

Title Design
Gjorgi Despodov

Der Film wurde mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Nationalen Kulturfonds Bulgariens realisiert.

Kosta Karakashyan

| Social

| Biographie

Kosta Karakashyan ist ein bulgarisch-armenischer Regisseur und Choreograf, der Empathie durch Bewegung und Geschichtenerzählen erforscht. Kosta ist zweifacher bulgarischer Meister im Gesellschaftstanz und hat bei "Dancing With the Stars Vietnam", "Bulgaria's Got Talent" und in Kanada, Deutschland, Norwegen, Ägypten, Vietnam und Japan getanzt und choreografiert. Kosta schloss sein Studium an der Columbia University mit einem BA in Tanz ab, und seine Arbeit wurde von Vogue Russia, The Guardian, Elle Magazine, Bloomberg, BBC und Radio Free Europe vorgestellt. Mit seiner Produktionsfirma Studio Karakashyan hat er zahlreiche Kurzfilme und Videos inszeniert, produziert und choreografiert, zuletzt den dokumentarischen Tanzfilm WAITING FOR COLOR über die anhaltende Verfolgung von LGBTQ+ in Tschetschenien, der beim Cinédanse Festival Ottawa 2019 mit dem Prix Lumière ausgezeichnet wurde.

| Biographie

Kosta Karakashyan ist ein bulgarisch-armenischer Regisseur und Choreograf, der Empathie durch Bewegung und Geschichtenerzählen erforscht. Kosta ist zweifacher bulgarischer Meister im Gesellschaftstanz und hat bei "Dancing With the Stars Vietnam", "Bulgaria's Got Talent" und in Kanada, Deutschland, Norwegen, Ägypten, Vietnam und Japan getanzt und choreografiert. Kosta schloss sein Studium an der Columbia University mit einem BA in Tanz ab, und seine Arbeit wurde von Vogue Russia, The Guardian, Elle Magazine, Bloomberg, BBC und Radio Free Europe vorgestellt. Mit seiner Produktionsfirma Studio Karakashyan hat er zahlreiche Kurzfilme und Videos inszeniert, produziert und choreografiert, zuletzt den dokumentarischen Tanzfilm WAITING FOR COLOR über die anhaltende Verfolgung von LGBTQ+ in Tschetschenien, der beim Cinédanse Festival Ottawa 2019 mit dem Prix Lumière ausgezeichnet wurde.

header-middle-v2_2x
Dance & Dance Film 

// Festival

SURRENDER

Kosta Karakashyan
Friday 9 September 2022
20:00 GMT+1
Metropolis Kino
  • Dance Film
Bulgaria

| Synopsis

SURRENDER is a poetic documentary that highlights four of the most captivating Bulgarian male dancers (Krastyo Metodiev, Remi Toin, Nikola Hadjitanev & Svetoslav Seropyan) and lifts the curtain on who they are and why they dance. Combining their original performances with first-person documentary accounts, the film traces each man’s personal relationship with dance to understand how it interacts with the idea of masculinity in Bulgarian society.
| Get tickets

| Credits

Starring
Krastyo Metodiev
Remi Toin
Nikola Hadjitanev
Svetoslav Seropyan

Executive Producers
Kosta Karakashyan
Stephanie Handjiiska

Written and Directed by Kosta Karakashyan

Producers
Lyubomir Balabanov
Lubo Marinov

Director of Photography
Alexander Vasilev

Production Designer
Velina Mavrodieva

Editors
Kosta Karakashyan
Alexander Tsekoff

Music by
Ace Vaptsarov

Costume Designer
Georgi Stoilov

Creative Consultant
Alexander Tsekoff

Movement Director
Kosta Karakashyan

First Assistant Director
Lubo Marinov

First Assistant Camera
Alberto Dimitrov

Second Assistant Camera
Tsvetan Lyubenov

Gaffer
Manol Mitrev

Still Photographer
Sabridzhan Uzen

Sound Recording & Mixing
Georgi Kostov

Color Grading
Lyubomir Balabanov / Eurofilms

BTS Photographers
Petya Peeva
Evgenia Taneva

Title Design
Gjorgi Despodov

Тhe film was realized with the financial support of the National Culture Fund of Bulgaria.

Kosta Karakashyan

| Biography

Kosta Karakashyan is a Bulgarian-Armenian director and choreographer exploring empathy through movement and storytelling. A two-time Bulgarian National Ballroom Champion, Kosta has performed and choreographed on Dancing With the Stars Vietnam, Bulgaria’s Got Talent, and across Canada, Germany, Norway, Egypt, Vietnam, and Japan. Kosta graduated from Columbia University with a BA in Dance, and his work has been featured by Vogue Russia, The Guardian, Elle Magazine, Bloomberg, the BBC, and Radio Free Europe. He has directed, produced, and choreographed numerous short films and videos through his production company Studio Karakashyan, most recently the documentary dance film WAITING FOR COLOR about the ongoing LGBTQ+ persecution in Chechnya, awarded the Prix Lumière at Cinédanse Festival Ottawa 2019.

| Biography

Kosta Karakashyan is a Bulgarian-Armenian director and choreographer exploring empathy through movement and storytelling. A two-time Bulgarian National Ballroom Champion, Kosta has performed and choreographed on Dancing With the Stars Vietnam, Bulgaria’s Got Talent, and across Canada, Germany, Norway, Egypt, Vietnam, and Japan. Kosta graduated from Columbia University with a BA in Dance, and his work has been featured by Vogue Russia, The Guardian, Elle Magazine, Bloomberg, the BBC, and Radio Free Europe. He has directed, produced, and choreographed numerous short films and videos through his production company Studio Karakashyan, most recently the documentary dance film WAITING FOR COLOR about the ongoing LGBTQ+ persecution in Chechnya, awarded the Prix Lumière at Cinédanse Festival Ottawa 2019.

keep up with
festival news