Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

Kattam Katti

  • dance film | United Kingdom
04
09
20:30

| Film Beschreibung

Kattam Katti spielt während des Uttarayan, dem prächtigen, weltberühmten Fest in Gujarat, Nordindien, bei dem Millionen von Menschen aus verschiedenen Städten, Religionen und sozialen Schichten zusammenkommen, um in einem einzigartigen Ereignis Drachen steigen zu lassen und damit den Übergang vom Winter zum Sommer zu feiern. Neoklassischer Tanz mit eigens komponierter Live-Musik erzählt Geschichten, die vom farbenfrohen, aber auch rücksichtslos umkämpften Uttarayan-Drachenfest inspiriert sind und Parallelen zu den heute gespaltenen Gesellschaften aufzeigen.
| Get a Ticket

| CREDITS

Director: Omari ‘Motion’ Carter | Producer: Pagrav Dance Company | Dancers: Meera Patel, Mira Salat, Saloni Saraf, Subhash Viman Gorania | Musicians: Gurdain Singh Rayatt, Hiren Chate, Kaviraj Singh, Praveen Pratap | Cinematography: James Williams | Concept, Artistic Direction, and Choreography: Urja Desai Thakore

Urja Desai Thakore & Pagrav Dance Company

| Biografie

Urja Desai Thakore ist eine der führenden Kathak-Tänzerinnen Großbritanniens, die über 20 Jahre lang unter der Leitung von Kumudini Lakhia am Kadamb in Ahmedabad studierte. Anschließend erhielt Urja ihren Bachelor in Kathak von Akhil Bharatiya Gandharva Maha Vidyalaya. Außerdem hat sie einen Msaster in südasiatischem Tanz mit dem Schwerpunkt Choreographie an der Roehampton University abgeschlossen.  

Als anmutige und gefühlvolle Tänzerin ist Urja bekannt für ihre Liebe zu Abhinaya, für subtile Bewegungen und technische Stärke. Darüber hinaus wird ihr sensibler, zum Nachdenken anregender choreografischer Stil sowohl von Traditionalisten als auch von Modernisten hoch geschätzt. Urja ist die künstlerische Leiterin der Pagrav Dance Company (PDC), die sie 2005 in Großbritannien gegründet hat. Die Kompanie fördert Kathak, indem sie der Form einen modernen Kontext gibt und gleichzeitig zu neuem Denken und Verständnis der Disziplin anregt.

In den letzten zwölf Jahren hat das PDC die Werke "Baharan", "Hats", "Anant-Endless", "I, within" und "Detox" erfolgreich auf nationalen Tourneen aufgeführt. Seit 2016 tourt die Kompanie mit "Utsav", einem Abend mit klassischen Werken, an dem das Jugendensemble des PDC mitwirkt. 2007 co-choreografierte Urja Akademis "Bells" für das Trafalgar Square Festival, ein Tanzspektakel im Freien, das internationale Talente aus Großbritannien, Indien und Belgien zusammenbrachte. Urja war außerdem Assistenzchoreografin von Kumudini Lakhia für das von Akram Khan kuratierte Swapnagata Festival in Sadler's Wells im Jahr 2009. Im Jahr 2012 wurde Urja zur künstlerischen Leiterin des ersten Tanzfestivals in Milton Keynes ernannt. 2015 und 2017 wurde Urja als Gastchoreografin für die südasiatische Kategorie Solist des allerersten BBC Young Dancer Wettbewerbs ausgewählt.

Eine weitere große Leidenschaft von Urja innerhalb ihrer Tanzpraxis ist das Unterrichten, in dem sie in den letzten 20 Jahren viel Erfahrung gesammelt hat. PDC engagiert sich für die Förderung der nächsten Generation, indem sie eine unterstützende Plattform für aufstrebende Tänzer bietet. Auch in ihrer Position als ISTD-Komiteemitglied ist Urja eine aktive Fürsprecherin für den Tanzsektor. Außerdem wurde sie 2015 als eine von 20 Künstlern für das Mentoring-Programm von One Dance UK ausgewählt, nachdem sie als zukünftige Führungskraft der Tanzbranche anerkannt wurde. Sie wurde als eine von 24 Führungskräften aus der ganzen Welt für das Dance Rural Retreat für Führungskräfte ausgewählt, das von DanceEast organisiert wird.

  PDC wurde regelmäßig von Arts Council England, Milton Keynes Council, Akademi, South East Dance, SAA UK und Gem Arts bei ihren verschiedenen Projekten unterstützt. Zuletzt hat PDC an ihrem neuen Werk Kattam Katti gearbeitet, das auf dem Festival der Drachen basiert. Das Werk befindet sich in der Entstehungsphase und wurde vom Arts Council England, MK Council und Sadlers Wells unterstützt.

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden
mit Festival News

03-11

SEPTEMBER 2021

Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Dance & Dance Film 

// Festival

Kattam Katti

  • dance film | United Kingdom
04
09
20:30

| SYNOPSIS

Kattam Katti is set during Uttarayan, the magnificent, world-famous festival taking place in Gujarat, North India where millions of people from different cities, religions, and social classes come together to fly kites in a unique event marking the transition from winter into summer. Neo classicist dance with specially composed live music tells tales inspired by the colorful yet ruthlessly competitive Uttarayan kite festival, highlighting the parallels with today’s divided societies.

| CREDITS

Director: Omari ‘Motion’ Carter | Producer: Pagrav Dance Company | Dancers: Meera Patel, Mira Salat, Saloni Saraf, Subhash Viman Gorania | Musicians: Gurdain Singh Rayatt, Hiren Chate, Kaviraj Singh, Praveen Pratap | Cinematography: James Williams | Concept, Artistic Direction, and Choreography: Urja Desai Thakore

Urja Desai Thakore & Pagrav Dance Company

| Biography

Urja Desai Thakore is one of the UK’s leading Kathak dancers, who studied under the guidance of Kumudini Lakhia at Kadamb, Ahmedabad for over 20 years. Urja then received her BA in Kathak from Akhil Bharatiya Gandharva Maha Vidyalaya. She has also completed an MA in South Asian Dance with a focus on Choreography from Roehampton University.

A graceful and emotive dancer, Urja is renowned for her love of abhinaya, subtle movements, and technical strength. Furthermore, her sensitive, thought-provoking choreographic style is highly regarded by both traditionalists and modernists alike. Urja is the artistic director of Pagrav Dance Company (PDC), which she established in the UK in 2005. The company promotes Kathak, giving the form a modern context and renewed presentation while encouraging new thinking and understanding of the discipline.

Over the past twelve years, PDC has successfully toured the full-scale works “Baharan”, “Hats,” “Anant-Endless,” “I, within,” and “Detox,” nationally. Since 2016, the company has been touring “Utsav,” an evening of classical work, which features PDC’s youth ensemble. In 2007, Urja co-choreographed Akademi’s “Bells” for the Trafalgar Square Festival, an outdoor dance spectacle that brought together international talents from the UK, India and Belgium. Urja was also assistant choreographer to Kumudini Lakhia for the Swapnagata Festival curated by Akram Khan at Sadler’s Wells in 2009. In 2012, Urja was appointed artistic director of the first dance festival in Milton Keynes. In 2015 and 2017 Urja was selected as the guest choreographer for the South Asian category soloist of the first-ever BBC Young Dancer competition.

Another major passion for Urja within her dance practice is teaching, which is something that she has become extensively experienced in over the past 20 years. PDC is committed to nurturing the next generation by providing a supportive platform for emerging dancers. Urja is also an active advocator for the dance sector in her position as an ISTD Committee Member. She was also selected as one of 20 artists for One Dance UK’s Mentoring Programme in 2015, having been recognized as a future dance industry leader. She has been selected as one of the 24 leaders around the world for Dance Rural Retreat for leaders organized by DanceEast.

PDC have been regularly supported by Arts Council England, Milton Keynes Council, Akademi, South East Dance, SAA UK, and Gem Arts on their various projects. Most recently, PDC has been working on their new work Kattam Katti, based on the festival of kites. The work is on the creation stage and has been supported by Arts Council England, MK Council, and Sadlers Wells.

keep up with
festival news