Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

Ghazal

  • dance film | Lebanon
04
09
19:45

| Film Beschreibung

Ghazal auf Arabisch, ist ein Ausdruck für einen amourösen Flirts, ser seinen Ursprung in der arabischen Poesie hat. Eine junge Frau macht sich entweder bereit zu gehen oder kommt von einem nächtlichen Ausflug. Ein junger Mann sitzt auf seinem Stuhl und stellt Dominosteine auf. Durch einen plötzlichen Stromausfall scheinen beide durch das im Raum verbliebene Licht getriggert zu werden. Und was beginnt, scheint nicht zu enden und was endet, scheint nie gewesen zu sein. Auf der Ebene der Liebe ist es nicht so, dass Ursachen Wirkungen vorausgehen müssen. Ghazal ist ein Spiel mit der Zeit und der Richtung ihres flows.
| Get a Ticket

| CREDITS

Directed by: Jana G. Younes | Starring: Rebecca Dahrouj & Wafa Bouti | Choreographer: Jens Bjerregaard | Director of Photography: Shadi Chaaban | Steadicam Operator: Christopher Kechichian | Executive Producer: Reine Semaan | Co-Executive Producer: Christelle Younes | Production Manager: Faraj Aoun | Production Assistant: Lewis Semrani | Understudy Dancers: Mazen Nehlawi & Dasha Amer | Light Projections: Elie Noujaim | Art Director: Issa Kandil | Assistant Art Director: Hanady Medlej | Make-up: Richard El gharib | Assistant Director: Genia Boustany | 1st Camera Assistant: Jad Tannous | 2nd Camera Assistant: Lea Skayem | Gaffer: Dany Challita | Continuity: Cybelle Nader | Sound Design & Mix: Cedric Kayem | Music: Toni Geitani | Music Mix: Ziad Moukarzel | Editor: Noel Paul | Online: Miled Boulos | Colorist: Belal Hibri | Making of: Georges Zaydan | Set Photographer: Yara Tayoun

Jana Younes & Beirut Contemporary Ballet

| Biografie

Jana G. Younes ist eine junge libanesische Filmemacherin, mit großer Begeisterung für Bewegung. Sie schloss ihr Studium an der St. Joseph Universität Beirut ab, nachdem sie ihr weltweit beachtetes Kurztanzfilmdebüt "Orenda" eingereicht hatte.

Ihre Verliebtheit in die Dualität von Kino und Tanz begann schon mit ihrem kurz-Dokumentarfilm "Moving philosophy", in dem sie die Theorien der Laban-Bewegungsanalyse auf den Körper vor der Kamera anwandte und die Beziehung zwischen beiden untersucht

Inspiriert und angetrieben von den frühen Arbeiten des bewegten Bildes und des interpretativen Tanzes inszenierte sie einen weiteren Film, "And So Do I", mit dem gefeierten Choreographen Jens Bjerregaard, Giulia Barbone und Shayene Kamel in den Hauptrollen. Ein Film über Verlust, Liebe und die Unfähigkeit zu vergessen.

2017 gründete sie zusammen mit Bjerregaard das Beirut Contemporary Ballet, eine kollektive Plattform, die darauf abzielt, Beirut auf der internationalen Tanzlandkarte zu platzieren, auf der Bühne und auf der Leinwand.

Das erste Projekt der Kompanie, "Ghazal", bei dem Younes Regie führte, Bjerregaard choreografierte und zwei Tänzerinnen der Kompanie, Rebecca Dahrouj & Wafa Bouti, die Hauptrollen spielten, zeigt eine umgekehrte Tanzsequenz, die zum Umdrehen geschaffen wurde.

Als Fotografin neigt Jana dazu, Bewegung in die Stille einer Fotografie zu übertragen. Ihre Motive scheinen sich zu bewegen, als ob sie irgendwohin gehen, als ob sie etwas sagen würden. Ihr unabhängiges Projekt "dancers revolute", das sie als Reaktion auf die Müllkrise in Beirut schuf, erregte die Aufmerksamkeit der Öffentlichkeit und die Anerkennung der Medien.

Heute nimmt ihre Begeisterung für Bewegung andere Formen an, nutzt andere Medien und geht konkretere Wege, die die geheimnisvolle Körperlichkeit des Geistes erforschen.

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden
mit Festival News

03-11

SEPTEMBER 2021

Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Dance & Dance Film 

// Festival

Ghazal

  • dance film | Lebanon
04
09
19:45

| SYNOPSIS

Ghazal in Arabic, is a form of amatory flirt or ode, originating in Arabic poetry. A young woman is either getting ready to leave or coming from a night out. A young man is sitting in his chair, setting up domino pieces. With a sudden power outage, both seem to be triggered by the light left in the space. And what begins doesn’t seem to end, and what ends never seems to have been. There is no such thing, at the level of love, that causes must precede effects. Ghazal is a playful game of time and the direction of its flow.
| Get a Ticket

| CREDITS

Directed by: Jana G. Younes | Starring: Rebecca Dahrouj & Wafa Bouti | Choreographer: Jens Bjerregaard | Director of Photography: Shadi Chaaban | Steadicam Operator: Christopher Kechichian | Executive Producer: Reine Semaan | Co-Executive Producer: Christelle Younes | Production Manager: Faraj Aoun | Production Assistant: Lewis Semrani | Understudy Dancers: Mazen Nehlawi & Dasha Amer | Light Projections: Elie Noujaim | Art Director: Issa Kandil | Assistant Art Director: Hanady Medlej | Make-up: Richard El gharib | Assistant Director: Genia Boustany | 1st Camera Assistant: Jad Tannous | 2nd Camera Assistant: Lea Skayem | Gaffer: Dany Challita | Continuity: Cybelle Nader | Sound Design & Mix: Cedric Kayem | Music: Toni Geitani | Music Mix: Ziad Moukarzel | Editor: Noel Paul | Online: Miled Boulos | Colorist: Belal Hibri | Making of: Georges Zaydan | Set Photographer: Yara Tayoun

Jana Younes & Beirut Contemporary Ballet

| Biography

Jana G. Younes is a young Lebanese filmmaker who has a keen enthusiasm for movement. She graduated from the St. Joseph University (IESAV) – Beirut after submitting her world-recognized short dance film debut, “Orenda.”

Her infatuation with the duality of cinema and dance started earlier on with her short documentary “Moving philosophy” where she applied Laban Movement Analysis’ theories on the body of the camera, studying the relationship between the two.

Inspired and driven by the early works of moving picture and interpretive dance, she orchestrated another film, “And So Do I,” starring acclaimed choreographer, Jens Bjerregaard, Giulia Barbone, and Shayene Kamel. A film about loss, love, and the inability to forget.

In 2017, she founded alongside Bjerregaard, the Beirut Contemporary Ballet, a collective platform that aims to place Beirut on the international dance map, adaptive to both stage and screen.

The company’s first project “Ghazal,” which Younes directed, Bjerregaard choreographed, and that starred two of the company’s dancers, Rebecca Dahrouj & Wafa Bouti, features a reversed sequence of dance that was created to be flipped.

Jana as a photographer tends to create motion in the stillness of the photograph. Her subjects appear to be moving as if they are going somewhere, appear to be saying something. Her independent project, “dancers revolute,” which she created in response to the garbage crisis in Beirut, caught the public’s attention and the media’s recognition.

Today, her enthusiasm for movement is taking different shapes, using different mediums, and tackling more concrete pathways that explore the mysterious physicality of the mind.

keep up with
festival news

03-11

SEPTEMBER 2021