header-middle-v2_2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

Fringe

Jasmine Ellis
Freitag 9 September 2022
18:15 GMT+2
Metropolis Kino
  • Tanzfilm
Kanada / Deutschland

| Synopsis

Amie und Victor gehen in den Wald. Ein kurzer experimenteller Film über das Jetzt.
| Tickets erhalten

| Credits

Performed by / Amie Jammeh & Victor Rottier
Director & Choreographer / Jasmine Ellis
Director of Photography / Clemens Krüger
1st AC / Ray Demski
Sound / Christof Kreutzer
Editor / Tobias Beul
Dramaturg / Martina Missel
Artistic Production Management / Sophie Thuma, Rat&Tat Kulturbüro
Produced by / Jasmine Ellis Projects gUG & Bad Posture Productions

Quote/Text by / Mikki Kendall “Hood Feminism” (New York City, 2020; page 41)

Supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK – STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR initiative. Support Program Dance.

Jasmine Ellis

| Social

| Biographie

Jasmine Ellis ist eine kanadische Choreografin und Filmregisseurin mit Wohnsitz in München, Deutschland. Sie ist Absolventin der Etobicoke School of the Arts, der School of Toronto Dance Theatre und des Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory und arbeitet seit 2006 professionell als Tänzerin und Choreografin. Ellis ist eine preisgekrönte Filmregisseurin und künstlerische Leiterin von Bad Posture Productions.

Ellis' Arbeiten zeichnen sich häufig durch einen transdisziplinären Ansatz aus, der Tanz, Text, Live-Musik und Film miteinander verbindet und in dem Humor, Verletzlichkeit und Vertrautheit miteinander verwoben werden, um unerwartete Welten zu schaffen.

Ellis erhält regelmäßig internationale Aufträge für Bühnenwerke. Zu den jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Empathy (2018), das beim Rodeo Festival (München) wiederaufgeführt wurde; back and until (2018) mit Springboard Danse Montreal (Kanada) als Resident Choreographer; der Kurzfilm lockdown (2020), der in Zusammenarbeit mit LajaMartin - Physical Dance Theater Company (USA) entstand; und Everything Blue (2020), das mit Evandro Pedroni (Wien/Brasilien) entstand.

Ellis schuf eine Trilogie von drei abendfüllenden Produktionen über Einsamkeit für die Jahre 2019-20: Lucas is Lonely (2019) wurde in Winnipeg, Kanada, uraufgeführt und von Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers präsentiert. Toni is Lonely (2019) wurde im Rahmen des DANCE Festivals in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Residenztheater realisiert und vom Canada Council for the Arts unterstützt, und die hybride Theaterfilmversion Is Susan Lonely? (2020) wurde erstellt und online gestreamt. Ellis hat vom Canada Council for the Arts eine Förderung erhalten, um eine Kurzfilmversion der Bühnenproduktion von Toni is Lonely zu erstellen. Toni wird im Jahr 2021 in die Kinos kommen. Ellis hat das #takecare-Stipendium des Fonds Darstellende Künste für 2021 erhalten.

Als sehr aktives Mitglied der Münchner freien Tanzszene leitet Ellis das Bad Lemons Project, das eine lebendige und kollaborative Gemeinschaft durch professionelles Training, Trainingsaustausch und Forschungsprojekte fördert.

| Biographie

Jasmine Ellis ist eine kanadische Choreografin und Filmregisseurin mit Wohnsitz in München, Deutschland. Sie ist Absolventin der Etobicoke School of the Arts, der School of Toronto Dance Theatre und des Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory und arbeitet seit 2006 professionell als Tänzerin und Choreografin. Ellis ist eine preisgekrönte Filmregisseurin und künstlerische Leiterin von Bad Posture Productions.

Ellis' Arbeiten zeichnen sich häufig durch einen transdisziplinären Ansatz aus, der Tanz, Text, Live-Musik und Film miteinander verbindet und in dem Humor, Verletzlichkeit und Vertrautheit miteinander verwoben werden, um unerwartete Welten zu schaffen.

Ellis erhält regelmäßig internationale Aufträge für Bühnenwerke. Zu den jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Empathy (2018), das beim Rodeo Festival (München) wiederaufgeführt wurde; back and until (2018) mit Springboard Danse Montreal (Kanada) als Resident Choreographer; der Kurzfilm lockdown (2020), der in Zusammenarbeit mit LajaMartin - Physical Dance Theater Company (USA) entstand; und Everything Blue (2020), das mit Evandro Pedroni (Wien/Brasilien) entstand.

Ellis schuf eine Trilogie von drei abendfüllenden Produktionen über Einsamkeit für die Jahre 2019-20: Lucas is Lonely (2019) wurde in Winnipeg, Kanada, uraufgeführt und von Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers präsentiert. Toni is Lonely (2019) wurde im Rahmen des DANCE Festivals in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Residenztheater realisiert und vom Canada Council for the Arts unterstützt, und die hybride Theaterfilmversion Is Susan Lonely? (2020) wurde erstellt und online gestreamt. Ellis hat vom Canada Council for the Arts eine Förderung erhalten, um eine Kurzfilmversion der Bühnenproduktion von Toni is Lonely zu erstellen. Toni wird im Jahr 2021 in die Kinos kommen. Ellis hat das #takecare-Stipendium des Fonds Darstellende Künste für 2021 erhalten.

Als sehr aktives Mitglied der Münchner freien Tanzszene leitet Ellis das Bad Lemons Project, das eine lebendige und kollaborative Gemeinschaft durch professionelles Training, Trainingsaustausch und Forschungsprojekte fördert.

header-middle-v2_2x
Dance & Dance Film 

// Festival

Fringe

Jasmine Ellis
Friday 9 September 2022
18:15 GMT+1
Metropolis Kino
  • Dance Film
Canada / Germany

| Synopsis

Amie and Victor going into the woods. A short experimental film about now.
| Get tickets

| Credits

Performed by / Amie Jammeh & Victor Rottier
Director & Choreographer / Jasmine Ellis
Director of Photography / Clemens Krüger
1st AC / Ray Demski
Sound / Christof Kreutzer
Editor / Tobias Beul
Dramaturg / Martina Missel
Artistic Production Management / Sophie Thuma, Rat&Tat Kulturbüro
Produced by / Jasmine Ellis Projects gUG & Bad Posture Productions

Quote/Text by / Mikki Kendall “Hood Feminism” (New York City, 2020; page 41)

Supported by the NATIONAL PERFORMANCE NETWORK – STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR initiative. Support Program Dance.

Jasmine Ellis

| Biography

Jasmine Ellis is a Canadian choreographer and film director based out of Munich, Germany. A graduate of Etobicoke School of the Arts, The School of Toronto Dance Theatre and Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory, she has worked professionally in dance as a performer and choreographer since 2006. Ellis is an award–winning film director and Artistic Director of Bad Posture Productions.

Ellis’s work is often characterized by its transdisciplinary approach often combining dance, text, live music and film and in which humour, vulnerability and familiarity are weaved together to create unexpected worlds.

Ellis is regularly commissioned to create stage works internationally. Recent works have included Empathy (2018) which was remounted at the Rodeo Festival (Munich); back and until (2018) with Springboard Danse Montreal (Canada) as resident choreographer; the short film lockdown (2020) created in collaboration with LajaMartin – Physical Dance Theater Company (USA); and Everything Blue (2020) created with Evandro Pedroni (Vienna/Brazil)

Ellis created a trilogy of three full length productions about loneliness from 2019-20: Lucas is Lonely (2019) premiered in Winnipeg, Canada presented by Winnipeg’s Contemporary Dancers. Toni is Lonely (2019) was realized as part of DANCE Festival in cooperation with Residenztheater and supported by The Canada Council for the Arts, and the hybrid theater film version Is Susan Lonely? (2020) was created and streamed online. Ellis has received funding from The Canada Council for the Arts to create a short film version of the stage production of Toni is Lonely. Toni will be released in 2021. Ellis has been awarded the #takecare grant from Fonds Darstellende Künste for 2021.

As a very active member of the Munich independent dance scene, Ellis heads the Bad Lemons Project, which promotes a lively and collaborative community through professional training, training exchange and research projects.

| Biography

Jasmine Ellis is a Canadian choreographer and film director based out of Munich, Germany. A graduate of Etobicoke School of the Arts, The School of Toronto Dance Theatre and Codarts Rotterdam Conservatory, she has worked professionally in dance as a performer and choreographer since 2006. Ellis is an award–winning film director and Artistic Director of Bad Posture Productions.

Ellis’s work is often characterized by its transdisciplinary approach often combining dance, text, live music and film and in which humour, vulnerability and familiarity are weaved together to create unexpected worlds.

Ellis is regularly commissioned to create stage works internationally. Recent works have included Empathy (2018) which was remounted at the Rodeo Festival (Munich); back and until (2018) with Springboard Danse Montreal (Canada) as resident choreographer; the short film lockdown (2020) created in collaboration with LajaMartin – Physical Dance Theater Company (USA); and Everything Blue (2020) created with Evandro Pedroni (Vienna/Brazil)

Ellis created a trilogy of three full length productions about loneliness from 2019-20: Lucas is Lonely (2019) premiered in Winnipeg, Canada presented by Winnipeg’s Contemporary Dancers. Toni is Lonely (2019) was realized as part of DANCE Festival in cooperation with Residenztheater and supported by The Canada Council for the Arts, and the hybrid theater film version Is Susan Lonely? (2020) was created and streamed online. Ellis has received funding from The Canada Council for the Arts to create a short film version of the stage production of Toni is Lonely. Toni will be released in 2021. Ellis has been awarded the #takecare grant from Fonds Darstellende Künste for 2021.

As a very active member of the Munich independent dance scene, Ellis heads the Bad Lemons Project, which promotes a lively and collaborative community through professional training, training exchange and research projects.

keep up with
festival news