Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Tanz & Tanzfilm 

// Festival

Fragmented Youth

  • dance film | Germany / Switzerland
03
09
18:00

| Film Beschreibung

Fragmented Youth ist eine sinnlich geprägte Erkundung der vielschichtigen Nostalgie. Der Tänzer Mathew Prichard und der Regisseur Ewan Waddell entdecken ihre alte Freundschaft wieder, während sie eine Bewegungssprache erarbeiten, die Mathew entwickelte, um die verblassenden Erinnerungen an seine Taubheit in der Kindheit, zu verarbeiten. Am Rande einsamer Städte, beim Trampen durch Westeuropa, zeigt der Film eine Welt des ewigen Sonnenscheins und beschwört idealisierte Vorstellungen von Jugend. Die unheimliche Geräuschkulisse von Ed Myhill zieht den Zuschauer in Mathews verwirrende Erinnerungen an seine frühe sensorische Existenz.   Fragmented Youth ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Tänzer Mathew Prichard, dem Regisseur Ewan Waddell und dem Sounddesigner Ed Myhill. Als hochgradig taubes Kind waren es die Schwingungen der Musik, die Mathews tiefe Verbindung zur Bewegung förderten.   Mathews frühe Dissoziation mit seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung wird durch die grenzenlose Mehrdeutigkeit dieser Umgebungen dargestellt.   Analoge Kameratechnik, fragmentierte Schnittstil und Stakkato-Soundpartitur bilden die Zusammenhangslosigkeit des menschlichen Gedächtnisses ab. Dabei wird der Vorstellung nachgegangen, dass es bei Nostalgie nicht nur um die Erinnerung an einsame Erlebnisse geht, sondern auch darum, wie man sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt im Leben gefühlt hat. Mathew erklärt: "Durch die Improvisation wollte ich mich auf die ehrlichste, reaktivste Weise in diesem konkreten Moment in Raum und Zeit bewegen. Die unerforschten, undefinierten Räume, in denen die Bewegung entstand, beeinflussten die unverfälschte Form der Bewegung."
| Get a Ticket

| CREDITS

Director: Ewan Waddell, Mathew Prichard | Choreographer: Mathew Prichard | Dancer: Mathew Prichard | Cinematography: Ewan Waddell | Music: Ed Myhill | Costume: Kat Collings | Editing: Mathew Prichard

Mathew Prichard

| Biografie

Mathew Prichard ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler, der derzeit in Luzern, Schweiz, lebt. Er ist ein zeitgenössischer Tänzer und ein freischaffender Fotograf. Mathew ist beeinflusst von der Physis von Körpern in Bewegung und erforscht den Ausdruck der menschlichen Gestalt.

Mathew wurde von zahlreichen Magazinen gefeatured, darunter Vogue Italia, WÜL Magazine, Pap Magazine und TRIP Mag. 2018 veröffentlichte Mathew im Selbstverlag sein Debütbuch "Malnourished by Overindulgence", in dem er Poesie und Fotografie vereint. Seine Arbeit wurde für das 'FORMAT19' International Photography Festival 2019 ausgewählt.

Mathew hat als Tänzer unter anderem mit der Rambert Dance Company, der National Dance Company Wales, The Royal Opera und Marcat Dance gearbeitet. Derzeit ist er Kompanie-Tänzer beim Tanz Luzerner Theater.

Ewan Waddell

| Biografie

Ewan Waddell lebt derzeit in Berlin und ist Autor und art direktor. Die Themen seiner Arbeit erforschen individuelle Erfahrungen und die Versöhnung mit dem Selbst, während seine visuellen Erzählungen in der Harmonie zwischen zeitgenössischen und Lo-Fi-Prozessen angesiedelt sind. Ewans Arbeiten wurden bereits im Pap Magazine, Cortex, TRIP Mag, Nylon Japan und Huck Magazine veröffentlicht. Derzeit schreibt er für Schön.

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden
mit Festival News

03-11

SEPTEMBER 2021

Bühne_maske_Oben@2x
Dance & Dance Film 

// Festival

Fragmented Youth

  • dance film | Germany / Switzerland
03
09
18:00

| SYNOPSIS

Fragmented Youth is a sensory-driven exploration into multi-layered nostalgia. Dancer Mathew Prichard and director Ewan Waddell rediscover an old friendship whilst capturing a movement language Mathew developed to reconcile fading memories of his childhood disability of deafness. On the fringes of lonely towns, while hitchhiking through Western Europe, the film depicts a world of eternal sunshine, conjuring idealized notions of youth. The eerie soundscape created by Ed Myhill pulls the audience into Mathew’s disorientating recollections of his early sensory existence. Fragmented Youth is a collaboration between dancer Mathew Prichard, director Ewan Waddell and sound designer Ed Myhill. As a profoundly deaf child, it was feeling the vibrations of the music that cultivated Mathew’s deep connection to movement. Mathew’s early dissociation with his immediate surroundings is represented by the borderless ambiguity of these environments.The analog processes of cinematography, the fragmented editing style, and the staccato sound score converge to emulate the incoherency of human memory, exploring the notion that nostalgia is not merely about recalling solitary experiences but also remembering how one felt at that time in life. Mathew explains: “Through improvisation, I aimed to move in the most honest, reactive way in that specific moment in space and time. The unexplored, undefined spaces in which the movement was created informed the unrefined nature of the movement.”
| Get a Ticket

| CREDITS

Director: Ewan Waddell, Mathew Prichard | Choreographer: Mathew Prichard | Dancer: Mathew Prichard | Cinematography: Ewan Waddell | Music: Ed Myhill | Costume: Kat Collings | Editing: Mathew Prichard

Mathew Prichard

| Biography

Mathew Prichard is a multi-disciplinary artist, currently based in Luzern, Switzerland. He is a contemporary dancer and a freelance photographer. Mathew is influenced by the physicality of bodies in motion, exploring the expression of the human form.

Mathew has been featured by numerous magazines including; Vogue Italia, WÜL Magazine, Pap Magazine, and TRIP Mag. In 2018, Mathew self-published his debut book, ‘Malnourished by Overindulgence’, compiling poetry and photography. His work was selected for the ‘FORMAT19’ International Photography Festival in 2019.

Mathew has worked as a dancer with companies including; Rambert Dance Company, National Dance Company Wales, The Royal Opera, and Marcat Dance. He is currently a company dancer with Tanz Luzerner Theater.

Ewan Waddell

| Biography

Ewan Waddell is a writer and art director currently based in Berlin, Germany. The themes of his work explore individual experiences and reconciliation with the self, while his visual narratives are found in the harmony between contemporary and lo-fi processes. Ewan’s work has been featured by Pap Magazine, Cortex, TRIP Mag, Nylon Japan, and Huck Magazine. He currently writes for Schön.

keep up with
festival news

03-11

SEPTEMBER 2021